UHLC hosts two mediation competitions

Winners of the Newhouse mediation competition, Greg Garvin, left, and Dennis Nall, far right, with competition judges, UHLC alumna and former Texas Supreme Court Justice Ruby Kless Sondock, former state District Judge John Coselli, and  UHLC Professor Emeritus Tom Newhouse.

Oct. 16, 2015 — Law students from across the country gathered at the University of Houston Law Center recently for the Jeffry S. Abrams National Mediator Competition with the University of Maryland Francis King Carey School of Law taking home the championship.

Linda Morris defeated competitors from South Texas College of Law in the semi-finals and North Carolina Central University School of Law in the finals of the competition Oct. 9 and 10.

“The Jeffrey S. Abrams competition is unique because it is the only competition where students compete only as mediators,” said Jim Lawrence, director of the Blakely Advocacy Institute, who has a consulting role during the competition.

The Abrams competition, which is not open to UHLC students, coincides with the Newhouse Representing Clients in Mediation Competition in which Law Center teams face off against each other. This year 31 teams participated in the Newhouse competition with Greg Garvin and Dennis Nall emerging as the winning team.

Judges for the Jeffry S. Abrams National Mediator Competition included Jeff Abrams, left,  Loraine Brennan, and  Ben DeVires , with the winning student mediator, Linda Morris of the  University of Maryland Francis King Carey School of Law.

Back to the News Homepage