Dean's Awards ceremony honors UHLC's outstanding students 

Faculty, family and friends celebrate students' achievements at the 2016 Dean's Awards ceremony.

April 21, 2016 – University of Houston Law Center Dean Leonard M. Baynes honored the Law Center students for their academic excellence and commitment to the law during the annual Dean's Awards ceremony Tuesday.

"This is one time that we are able to give you feedback and tell you that you are doing a great job," Baynes told students gathered in Krost Hall along with family, friends, and well-wishers. "You exemplify the power of legal education, and we are celebrating you and all you have done."

Baynes, assisted by Associate Dean for Student Affairs Sondra Tennessee, handed out more than 60 scholarships and awards to students for their achievements in the classroom and dedication to various areas of law. Students who received the highest grade in first-year courses also were recognized with the Lex Award. Students were also acknowledged who will participate in the Dean-funded Summer Global and Public Interest Fellows.

Faculty and staff also were honored for their efforts during the 2015-16 academic year:

  • Clinical Associate Professor Geoffrey A. Hoffman, director of the UHLC Immigration Clinic, was awarded the 2016 Ethel M. Baker Faculty Award.
  • Associate Dean for Student Affairs Sondra R. Tennessee was awarded the 2016 Staff Award.
  • Professor Paul M. Janicke was awarded the 2016 Order of the Barons Professor of the Year.
  • Professor David L. Crump was awarded the 2016 Student Bar Association Professor of the Year.

See official program here for a complete list of UHLC 2016 Dean's Awards winners.

UH Law Center's Dean Leonard M. Baynes congratulates law student Dasha Krljanovic on her scholarship award from Houston Chapter of Tax Executives Institute Inc.

Back to the News Homepage