University of Houston Law Center Logo Give Now  

UH Law Alumni Association announces 2023-2024 award recipients

March 05, 2024 — The University of Houston Law Alumni Association has selected exceptional alumni and esteemed law faculty whose remarkable contributions continually elevate the standing of the Law Center in the business and legal community.

“Each honoree exemplifies the excellence and dedication that define our alumni community, and their contributions significantly enhance the reputation of the Law Center. Congratulations to all the deserving award winners, and I look forward to celebrating their achievements at the upcoming 47th Annual Law Gala & Auction," said Kris Thomas (J.D. ’83), UH Law Alumni Association President.

Winners for 2023-2024 are:

  • Dean's Award(s): Ezequiel Reyna ‘84 & Senator Royce West ’79
  • President's Award: Fermeen Fazal ’00
  • Alumnus of the Year Award: Dick Schwartz ‘79
  • Corporate Sector Achievement Award: Dianne Ralston ‘94
  • Diversity & Inclusion Award: Eric Munoz ‘06
  • Faculty Distinction Award: Meredith Duncan ‘93
  • Honorary Alumnus Award: Dr. Elwyn Lee
  • James M. Roach Law Fund Volunteer Award: Muhammad Aziz ‘03
  • Law Gala & Auction Award: Vinson & Elkins LLP
  • Private Practice Achievement Award: Elaine Block ‘78
  • Pro Bono/Community Service & Leadership Award: Nikhita Ved ‘10
  • Public/Non-Profit Sector Achievement Award: Anne Chandler ‘98
  • Rising Star Award(s): Luis Ruiz ’14 & Scott Armstrong ‘14

Awards will be presented at the 47th Annual Law Gala & Auction on Saturday, April 6 at the Post Oak Hotel at Uptown Houston.

More information can be found at

Back to News Homepage

University of Houston Law Center

4170 Martin Luther King Blvd
Houston, TX 77204-6060

713-743-2100 General
713-743-2094 Legal Clinics